I guess it’s time to bring out the tree

Would I be wrong to assume that most of you have already finished decorating your homes, ticked everything off your Holiday shopping list, wrapped the gifts, and are now proudly surveying your handiwork while enjoying a cup of delicious hot chocolate and counting down to Christmas? I, for one, have accomplished absolutely none of the above. Truth be told, my artificial Christmas tree is yet to be taken out of the storage, and I still need to figure out where the hell are those boxes containing all the bells and baubles. But I have a feeling I’m not the only one who leaves everything to be done at the eleventh nerve-wracking hour.

So in honor of all those late Kates who’re yet to dust off their Christmas ornaments, whose homes still don’t look like something straight out of a Holiday special magazine spread, those toiling to get their handmade Christmas gifts ready (or at least are toying with the idea of making a handmade gift or two), I present to you Pucci, your personal Holiday assistant.

Pucci_a free Holiday Special amigurumi pattern by Tales of Twisted Fibers

Pucci [pronounced Pu-chhi] translates to “the little one” in colloquial Nepali. It could mean the person is younger to you in age or is slight in built. Though not necessarily a nice way to address people (in fact, it is quite a condescending term), you can get away with it if you’re extremely chummy with the person being addressed. So, to put it in a nutshell, to call someone Pucci, you either have to be on backslapping terms with that person or be ready to get your eye blackened and your nose bloodied. But our Pucci is very sweet and I promise she won’t break your nose if you call her by that name; she may accidentally misplace your house keys though. 😉

Pucci_a free Holiday Special amigurumi pattern by Tales of Twisted Fibers

Though her resume says she’s a highly skilled personal holiday assistant, I’m not exactly sure how much help an 8 inch amigurumi can be. All I can say is that she will make your Holiday photos look good.

Pucci_a free Holiday Special amigurumi pattern by Tales of Twisted Fibers

DOWNLOAD THE FREE PATTERN HERE

To download the pattern in DUTCH, translated by our fellow crocheter Jeannette Kemp, click here.

To get the pattern in GERMAN, visit Gabi Donner’s blog here. Thanks for translating the pattern, Gabi.

Pucci_a free Holiday Special amigurumi pattern by Tales of Twisted Fibers

Happy Holidays!

If you liked this free amigurumi pattern, would you please consider making a small donation to Animal Nepal? Animal Nepal is a not for profit, animal welfare and rights organization based in Lalitpur, Nepal, which runs two sanctuaries for abused and injured homeless/working animals. This organization is also in the forefront of campaigning for animal rights. If you want to see the wonderful work these folks do, you can check out their Facebook page or their blog. You can also help them by donating here.

Thank you for caring.

P.S. The pattern was designed and written in a hurry so it is possible it may contain some errors. If you spot any, would you please be kind enough to let me know?

P.S.S. I used loop stitch to make Pucci’s hair. If you’re unfamiliar with this stitch, here’s an excellent photo tutorial by Stacey of Fresh Stitches.

32 thoughts on “I guess it’s time to bring out the tree

  1. LitlBits says:

    Thank you for this darling little character! I’m sure, since my ‘nickname’ from hubby is “LitlBits”, that she will be happy to be called Pucci.
    She’s darling…I hope I can get at least one made before the Big Day!
    A Blessed and Beautiful Christmas Season to you and yours………..

  2. Ilaria says:

    This year, for the first time in my life, I have all the Christmas decorations and gifts almost done. But I would be willing to dismantle everything and then get help from Pucci 😀
    Thank you for this gorgeous free pattern!

    • Tales of Twisted Fibers says:

      Aww… you’re so sweet, Ilaria. But I envy you; I never get anything done on time. And also because you’ve got a whole book’s worth of adorable Christmas amigurumis at your disposal. I still have the cute reindeer I made from your book last year. He’s going to come out of the amigurumi box and join his other holiday themed amigurumi friends this year again. Happy holidays! ☺

  3. Francine says:

    This is my first time on your blog. Actually 1st time because I just found it. Love your doll and if time permits I’ll be making her.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from our home in Canada to your home.

    Francine

  4. Miriam Olsen says:

    Such a cute doll! I think you forgot to mention the light pink yarn for the head and hands in the materials list. And in the instructions for the head it says to use black yarn. Not sure about the hands.

    • Tales of Twisted Fibers says:

      Goodness! I knew some errors might find their way in as I was in a hurry when I was writing the pattern but this is just too idiotic even for me. 😦 Thank you so much for pointing them out. I really appreciate it. 🙂

      P.S. The pattern is now updated.

Leave a comment