Crochet a cover for your Kindle

Raise your hands if you love crochet and reading. Now raise your hooks if you’ve been looking for a quick and simple [and free!] crochet sleeve pattern for your Kindle. I’m happy to tell you, your search ends here. 😄

They say you make handmade gifts for those you love. Since I love reading, I decided I needed to make something for the device that lets me read at night without blinding me. 😉 Now that I’ve made two of them for my Kindle and can personally vouch for how handy this little sleeve is, I’m sharing this pattern with you.

For this project, you’ll need around 50gm of sports weight yarn in the primary color and another 20-25gm in the secondary color, a 3.5mm hook, and a 38mm round button. The piece is worked flat and later joined at the seams. What makes this otherwise simple pattern fun to make is the use of spike stitch which—with its triangular motifs in a contrasting color—makes the design pop. If you are not familiar with this stitch, don’t panic. I’ve included a full-page photo tutorial on how to make a spike stitch. 😇

This crochet sleeve is designed for Kindle Paperwhite [7th generation] but the pattern can be adapted to fit other eReaders and tablets as well. Look up the section on sizing [under Special Notes] in the PDF to see how this can be done.

DOWNLOAD

Happy hookin’!

 

If you liked this free pattern, would you please consider making a small donation to Animal Nepal? Animal Nepal is a not for profit, animal welfare and rights organization based in Lalitpur, Nepal, which runs two sanctuaries for abused and injured homeless/working animals. This organization is also in the forefront of campaigning for animal rights. If you want to see the wonderful work these folks do, you can check out their Facebook  page or their blog. You can also help them by donating here.

 Thank you for caring.

4 thoughts on “Crochet a cover for your Kindle

  1. Cynthia Rhodes says:

    Very pretty! Now I don’t have to design one for myself. I have five different Kindles and only one of them didn’t have a cover (the first one I bought). I have been putting off making a cover and now I don’t have to! Thank you!

    We just finished foster sitting for a black lab today. We got him on the 29th. We had him for a few days before. He is very, very shy but seemed a bit better than the first time. He actually came along side my recliner and stood there for me to pat him. He is still a little leary of Norm (which is crazy because Norm loves dogs) but did let him get in a few pats. Digby is so happy to be an only child again!

    We have been having high temperatures lately. Several days in the low 90s. I do not like the heat. We have had the central air conditioning on constantly for several weeks. We turn it up at night so it doesn’t come on but we have a window air conditioner that we use in the bedroom instead. It is going to be a looooong summer.

    Hope everyone is well at your house. We are all fine.

    Love, Cynthia

    • Tales of Twisted Fibers says:

      I’m so glad you like it because I actually had you in mind while designing this. I’m not sure if you remember the conversation we had earlier this year where you’d mentioned how much physical as well as Kindle books you have amassed. So, after posting this pattern, I was actually waiting for your verdict on this. I’m happy it is a ‘yea’ from you. 😄

      Probably no one will notice but my choice of font for this pattern is Bookerly, the default font for Kindle since 2015. And probably no one will find it funny, but it makes me chuckle every time I open the PDF.
      Bookerly

      It’s so amazing what you and MN Paws have been doing for these babies. And it’s so sweet that Digby puts up with all your foster furbabies. I wish my girls were as patient but they are such brats, they won’t let any other animal come near us. 😫

      It’s hot and humid here as well. I hope the weather gets cooler soon. Take care. Kisses to Digby from the girls.

      Hugs,
      Serah

    • Tales of Twisted Fibers says:

      Aww… it’s really nice of you to say so. There’s no fancy equipment involved though; I just use my phone and a lightbox to take the photos, and then tweak the colors a bit in Photoshop and, like in this case, remove the background [which really makes a whole lot of difference!]. That’s pretty much it.

      BTW, I just look a peek at your blog and I must say the header illustration is awesome!

Leave a comment