Mimi & Pocahontas

Mimi Amigurumi DollShe sells sea shells by the sea shore. Yes, that’s what Mimi does. And what do I do? I make amigurumis created by incredibly talented amigurumi designers when I’m not designing my own😀Mimi Amigurumi DollA little over 6.5 inches, Mimi is a lovely little girl. She’s made from Vanja’s (of AmigurumiBB) free BB Dolls pattern available on her blog. The pattern is extremely detailed and easy to follow. And I must say this, this little girl was a pleasure to make. Thanks, Vanja! You make the cutest little dolls🙂

In other news, I recently joined ravelry, a knit and crochet community, which introduced me to Irene Strange’s  fabulous work. One amigurumi in particular—the Patch Doll—caught my attention because of its realistic body shape, and the pattern’s adaptability. So out came the hook and, a few days of work later, Pocahontas was born!Pocahontas-front_Tales-of-Twisted-FibersWhile the original pattern is of a 12 inch Halloween themed doll, I altered the pattern to turn this patch doll into a native American princess who’s a little over 14 inch tall. Pocahontas-legs-shoes2_Tales-of-Twisted-FibersI elongated her legs, shaped her shoulders and head differently, changed the dress completely to give it a Disneyesque look, gave her a tattoo on her right arm, and fitted her with a pair of boots. To complete the look, I gave her a completely new hairdo using a wig making technique I learnt from AmigurumiBB. Pocahontas-back_Tales-of-Twisted-FibersThe end result: The biggest amigurumi project I’ve ever attempted! Thank you, Irene. This is the coolest amigurumi ever😀

21 thoughts on “Mimi & Pocahontas

  1. Cynthia says:

    I love your patterns! It is so kind of you to share them. However, since you went to Box Sync, I cannot download them anymore. Is there any other way for me to access your patterns other than Box Sync?

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      Thank you, Cynthia. And I’m really sorry for the inconvenience. I’d been told by a blogging friend that she faced similar issues while accessing my patterns from dropbox, following which I migrated to box. But from what you’re telling me, box is not entirely glitch free. Here’s what we can do: you can tell me which patterns you want to receive (either through the comments field or you can direct message me from my About page) and I’ll mail them to you. How does that sound to you?

      • Cynthia says:

        You are a sweetheart! I will send you an e-mail and you can reply with the patterns attached. I can’t thank you enough. I wouldn’t want to miss any of your future creations!

    • Tales of Twisted Fibers says:

      It’s a great pattern, isn’t it! It’s one of my favorites designs by Irene Strange. As for the boots, I’m afraid I was too lazy to note down the modifications I made😦 But I’m sure you’ll come up with something amazing yourself🙂

Leave a Reply

