Santa’s Sack Has Arrived Early This Year

I’ve declared October as my favorite month of the year. For it was last month, in October, that my luck-o-meter ran unbelievably high. First, this little blog was featured in a magazine for ‘promoting handmade’ (Talk Sikkim, October 2012 issue). Then, I participated in four wordpress blog giveaways the same month and—hold your breath—won three of them (which lead P to suggest that I write a tutorial on ‘How to Win a Giveaway’ :P)!

While I may not have figured out how to win a giveaway, I’m sure all you clever folks out there must have pretty much figured out by now this post is going to be all about the fabulous craft books I won. That, and a couple of Christmassy things I have managed to make from these books😀 My winning streak started with the Make & Craft Blog Tour giveaway at Kate’s blog where I won a copy of Mollie Makes ‘Christmas’, a lovely book with chockfull of cute crafts to make for Christmas. The first project I picked from this book to make was this amigurumi reindeer.Isn’t he adorable? And don’t you just love handmade Christmas decorations? On that note, I’d like to take you over to Kate’s blog, Polly Pincushionwhere she displays her lovely hand sculpted ‘Polly’ figures. Her Pollies are cute, quirky characters made with wire and papier-mâché and dressed in luxury tweed wool, mohair or fabric. Aren’t they to die for! The good news is, Kate has a folksy shop where those of us with less nimble fingers can buy these custom made lovelies🙂

Now let’s get back to the part where I was talking about my recent good fortune😀 This brings us to book number two, which I won at Georgina Giles’ craft blog. Little Christmas Decorations to Knit and Crochet by Sue Stratford & Val Pierce is a fabulous book for knitters and crochetiers who love a handmade Christmas. It contains instructions for 20 knit and 20 crochet projects that make up quickly and require very little yarn. I picked Jolly Snowman as my first project from this book.
And he turned out quite jolly, methinks. Thanks to Georgina who hosted this fab giveaway, now I’ll have an army of snowmen at my disposal this Christmas😀 Georgina, by the way, is a crafter extraordinaire who not only crafts herself but also holds workshops for those aspiring to learn the craft. She also runs an etsy shop where she has some really cute felt Christmas Decoration Kits. So if you are thinking of Christmas shopping, you know where to head🙂

My winning steak continued when I participated in the Homemade by Ros Badger Book Giveaway at Colleen’s blog, Flee Fly Flown. Colleen is a part of a creative group called Plaid Tuba where she works with artists and supports them by handling the ‘business side’ of things or by wielding the paintbrush herself whenever necessary. Homemade: Christmas & Festive Decorations is filled with crafting goodness and contains 25 fun and simple projects for Christmas, Easter, Halloween, Valentine’s and birthdays. Though I have not tried any of the projects yet, I was drawn to this photograph immediately. See that gift tag with a miniature knitted stocking? Well, that inspired me to make this square origami gift box embellished with a miniature yarn wreath. This origami gift box is made from a paper bag and embellished with a small length of ribbon. If you are gifting your loved ones something handmade, why not present them your gift in a handmade gift box as well (as long as the gift is lightweight)? If you like this idea as much as I do but don’t know how to make an origami box, here is a simple tutorial. For the wreath, I cut a doughnut out of a scrap cardboard and wrapped it with dark green yarn, added some bullion knots with red, white and light green yarn to make baubles, and finished it off with a knitted ribbon.

That’s all the craft lovin’ I have to share with you today. I’ll be back soon with more Christmas related crafts. I promise🙂

15 thoughts on “Santa’s Sack Has Arrived Early This Year

  1. jamjarbizarre says:

    Thankyou for the link and your reindeer is so cute, Im yet to make one but my paper star garland is hanging proudly! I cant believe you won 3 books, Im definately going to be entering some more competitions, I love books! All the best Kate xx

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      I found it pretty hard to believe myself! I mean, three in a row? But I feel so very lucky to have won these fabulous craft books, thanks to amazing people like you who host these amazing giveaways.And I’m so glad you like my reindeer; your star garland is fab too🙂 Here’s to more wonderful giveaways across wordpress blogs and more winnings for all of us😀

  2. twinkletoes2day says:

    Well aren’t you the lucky one!!😀 Congratulations🙂 Those books look wonderful, so I hope we’re going to be treated to pics of lots of Christmas makes over the next few weeks?😉
    I didn’t know you were featured in a mag! Did I miss that post?😦 When was it?
    Hope your week continues as well as it has started off😀 Mo x

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      Thank you, Mo. These books are lovely and I indeed feel very very lucky😀 My blog was featured in the mag last month. I didn’t blog about it though; I was too embarrassed to do that *GRIN*

      • twinkletoes2day says:

        What you like!?!😀 Get it blogged mrs!! We all want to see and “Ooh and ahh” over it😉 Come on!😀

Leave a Reply

