Hartley & Babette

My first attempt at knitting toys was Jean Greenhowe’s Hansel and Gretel, back when I was in high school. I had found the pattern in my mom’s stash of old knitting magazines and had pestered her till she taught me how to read the pattern. After I successfully made my first pair of toys from the easy to follow pattern, Jean Greenhowe became my knitting hero until the amazing Alan Dart came along and nudged her to the second spot. But that doesn’t mean I’ve outgrown Jean. I still go through her booklets whenever I need a huge dose of the cute and cuddly🙂

Here are some images from my recent visit to the Jean Greenhowe world.Meet Hartley, the miniature teddy bear. He stands 4¼ inches tall, about as tall as a 100 ml bottle of perfume.

And this is Babette, Hartley’s lady friend. At 3½ inches, she’s smaller than the hunky Hartley but I must say she’s got oodles of style going by that fancy hat and the pretty summer dress she’s wearing😀

Together they make a very cute couple, don’t you think?🙂

Both Hartley & Babette are made from the patterns found in Jean Greenhowe’s Jemima-Jane and Friends.

5 thoughts on “Hartley & Babette

Leave a Reply

