A Fowl Valentine

This Valentine’s day, P is getting a pizza box from me. No pizza inside. Just the box. Modified a little. Just a little. Just enough to resemble a birdhouse. Oh well! Go ahead. Have a look at my upcycled pizza box birdhouse!

I’ve never been much of a Valentine’s Day person but when P asked me if I was doing any V-Day related craft, I definitely had to give it a thought. After all, when a man brings up the V word, a woman’s gotta listen😉 Since P has been thinking of making a birdhouse for a while now, I thought it’d be a good idea to come up with something that would give him an impetus to go ahead and do it. So when I came upon an empty pizza box and an old issue of Elle magazine, I knew what to do😀 After throwing in a bit of cellophane tape and cargo tape (to make it water resistant) and some white glue into the mix, the result was this upcycled pizza box birdhouse gift box.

Now, a birdhouse needs some birds, don’t you think? So here’s what I did. I knitted two cute chicks and an egg shell (an Alan Dart pattern) and put them in the birdhouse.

And since I figured a Valentine’s Day craft would not be complete without some hearts (pattern here), I made those too😀

Since the birdhouse’s actual function is to serve as a gift box, I put a bar of his favorite chocolate inside along with the birds and the hearts🙂

I think this will make someone’s Valentine’s Day very happy😀

5 thoughts on “A Fowl Valentine

  1. twinkletoes2day says:

    OH MY GOODNESS!!!!!! This is amazing, and clever, and artistic, and so very very swEEEEt😀
    And those little chicks! Oh my giddy aunt, they are just the cutest!
    If P doesn’t like it then P needs to see a therapist😉 lol
    You have amazing talent and I hope you are proud of yourself😀 Well done you!!😀😀

    Can you guess I couldn’t wait till after bedtime to take a peek – hehe
    Better scoot now
    Well done again
    ttfn
    Mo😉

Leave a Reply

