Hooked!

Lately, I have turned into Captain Hook. If you bump into me, you’ll see the hook that’s now become an extension of my right hand. Say hello to my crochet hook😀

So yeah, I’m learning to crochet.  Thanks to the tutorials available on youtube, so far I’ve advanced from being a crochet virgin to being familiar with over half a dozen crochet stitches. Yay! And those few stitches were all I needed to design for myself this hands-free wallet holder with ribbon and flower details🙂

Now whenever I need to make a quick to run to the supermarket for groceries, I can pop my wallet in this hands-free wallet holder, leave the handbag behind and not worry about having to adjust its straps on my shoulder every 5 minutes, and instead concentrate 100% on not losing my grocery bags😀 And if I want to turn this wallet holder into a clutch, all I need to do is tuck the strap inside. Clever, aren’t I? <<I don’t know why but right now I feel like an evil genius😛 >>

There’s no way I’d learn how to crochet and not try and make some crochet flowers, no matter how fugly they turn out! And as much as I love Frank Miller, I could not resist adorning the Spartan king Leonidas’ rusty old battle ravaged helmet with them😉

That’s all for now, folks. See you soon🙂

20 thoughts on “Hooked!

  1. twinkletoes2day says:

    Hey😀 I am very pleased to meet your hook😀 lol, and well done you on becoming a ‘hooker’ ‘crochetier’ ‘crocheter’ ‘yarnaholic’ …take your pick of moniker ;D
    I love the hands-free wallet holder you have made. And the ribbon is a sweet little twist to it. Very apt😀 Now I’m not a ‘think outside the box’ kind of person, so am wondering if you wrote the pattern down for it perchance? It would be very handy for me, and indeed many folk around here. And as you obviously have a knack for design, may I suggest you do write down your patterns (if you don’t already that is) to either sell or giveaway?
    Wishing you a very happy evening, Funky Friday and a wicked weekend😀

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      The ‘hooker’ thanks Twinkletoes for dropping by😉

      I’m so glad you like my wallet holder. Means a lot to me as it’s my first crochet project🙂 Since I was only playing around with the hook while making this and was not even sure if it would work, I did not write down the pattern (bangs head on the wall)😦 But I will definitely try to reconstruct the pattern and, if successful, post it here.

      In the meantime, you have a great weekend too😀

  2. twinkletoes2day says:

    Hope your weekend has been full of crafty goodness. Are you any closer to reconstructing your pattern for that lush wallet holder? :0))

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      My weekend fun was dampened by the little ballerina. But thank you for asking🙂 As for the pattern, I tried to figure out how I’d made it — without much success😦 You see, I’m very new to crocheting. Maybe I’ll try and make another one and write down the pattern this time. Meanwhile, you can have a look at this collection of free crochet bag patterns — http://tipnut.com/tote-bag-crochet/ — all written by experienced ‘hookers’😉

      • twinkletoes2day says:

        Oh bless you! Thank you for the link, They look lovely but are too big for my current requirements. I did make Lucy’s bag (Attic24) a while ago. It’s great. She’s a great source of inspiration and has lots of easy tutorials for what she creates.
        Have you used YouTube to help you with crochet stitches and techniques? Teresa is completely amazing for complete beginners and everyone else alike – http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL59FA9DF4C757945B&feature=plcp
        Have a magic Monday :0))

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      Bit of an eagle eye, aren’t you!😉 Yes, that’s Buddha (Vol. 5) and Barefoot Gen on image 3 and 300 on image 4. What you don’t see in these images is a bowl of instant noodles😛

  3. twinkletoes2day says:

    Hi There😀
    Well I’ve finished it and I hope you like what I did. You can see it here
    Bag Done
    I am quietly pleased with it I have to say😉
    Thanks for the inspiration ;0)
    I’m looking forward to seeing what you have on your hook next😀
    Best Wishes
    Mo

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      It is lovely, Mo!🙂 Love the yarn too. The blue and white place mat you’ve made is so adorable; love the pattern and the color combination. And, for me, it was love at first sight with your Hookie bag😀 You’ve got some serious skills!

      • Mo says:

        Thank you very much for your lovely comments😀
        I have been practising for many many moons so have improved over the years, but still don’t have the skills of some of the peeps out there that may have only been crocheting for a short time – like Helen of Helencrochet1 who only picked up a hook just about a year ago. I’m sure it helps if one has artistic tendencies anyway, like yourself – I don’t, but do love it so🙂
        Lucy of Attic24 fame (the hookie bag) is very talented and a great source of inspiration.
        I had a look at your flickr page too and I just love your christmassy stuff😀 but where’s your bag? That should be up there too you know😉
        Have you checked out any of the YouTube videos for crochet yet?
        ttfn
        Mo😉

  4. Twisted Fibers says:

    @Mo – Sorry, couldn’t reply earlier. Been busy. Haven’t had time to go through the video tutorials either (will do that soon). A new project was happily munching away at all my free time but now it’s done and I’ve posted the pictures in my latest post. Hope you’ll like them😀

    P.S. I’ve discarded flickr in favor of photobucket, which I find more convenient in terms of image code generation and suchlike things🙂

    • twinkletoes2day says:

      Hiya😀
      Photobucket eh, never heard of it, so that’s something I need to explore soon😉 Must be missing out on a whole host of yarny goodness😉
      Ooh, a new project eh, then I shall be checking all new posts once I get my wee man to bed, so…..
      ttfn
      Mo😉

      • Twisted Fibers says:

        If you are just looking at sharing photos online, flickr offers a better interface (at least that’s what I think). I use photobucket–despite its cluttered interface–because it offers some useful features for people like me who want to post images on their blog without running out of their wordpress storage space. Pinterest, on the other hand, is where I turn to for craft inspiration these days. Loads of amazing stuff there and pretty addictive too! You should check it out if you aren’t hanging out there already🙂

      • twinkletoes2day says:

        Ah, I see😉 U obviously know more about the jargony, techie stuff than I😉
        I joined Pinterest just recently and agree it is very addictive. A bit like flickr is and ravelry is too. So good for sparking off conversations at home as well as on line😀 And so good for getting one to part with pennies, haha, after seeing all the goodies available and the ‘wanties’ strike😉

Leave a Reply

