Woolen Coat and No Knickers

Winter is almost here. I already feel a nip in the air, and I guess so does Spookie, our furry, four-legged kid who will be turning two next month. Lately, she has been shamelessly hogging the blanket at night (yes, she sleeps with us) and refusing to get out of bed in the morning. This could only mean one thing—time to knit some doggy sweaters! And that’s exactly what I did.

Spookie’s new sweaters

Sista Spliff

That is Spookie posing for the camera wearing her red-yellow-green “Rasta Leftovers” sweater—‘rasta’ because of the colors and ‘leftovers’ because it was made with leftover yarns😀

The embarrassing (yet mandatory) Holidays sweater with snowflake Intarsia which she’ll be wearing this Christmas

Prior to the ‘photo shoot’, Spookie was sleeping and I had to drag her out of bed since I needed her to model these sweaters. But bring out a camera and the girl starts posing like a pro!

Move over Christopher Nolan, here comes Batgirl!

Spookie: What next? Superhero tights?

This doggy sweater with the Batman logo is in memory of my uncle who introduced me (and subsequently got me hooked) to comic books. When I was a kid, I used to see him every weekend. And every time I saw him, I’d go “Uncle, comics! Uncle, comics!” and drag him to a neighborhood book store where he’d patiently take out his wallet and pay for all the comic books I would select. I sometimes wonder if he regretted the day he first got me my first comic book. Next month, on her 2nd birthday, Spookie will wear this Batman sweater and “put suckers on blast”😉

If you have a pet, maybe a warm and colorful doggy sweater is just the thing he/she needs this winter. If you have basic knitting skills, you can make make this doggy sweater and keep your dog happy and warm🙂

Pattern for Spookie Batman Sweater for Dogs (Size: Medium)

Materials: (1) 4 ply yarns in green, yellow and black; (2) Straight needles – size UK 8 or 4 mm; (3) Straight needles – size UK 9 or 3.75 mm

Back: Using green yarn and UK 9 needles, cast on 58 sts. Work in k2, p 2 rib for 10 rows. Switch to UK 8 needles and work in stockinette stitch until piece measures 9 inches. Work Batman logo intarsia chart. Continue working in stockinette in green until the piece measures 13 inches. Switch to UK 9 needles and work in k2, p2 rib for 8 rows. Bind off loosely.

Batman logo intarsia chart for back

Underside: Using green yarn, cast on 46 stitches loosely on UK 9 needles. Work in k2, p2 rib for 10 rows. Switch to UK 8 needles and work in stockinette stitch until piece measures 9 inches.

Row 1: K1, ssk, k to 3 stitches from end, k2 tog, k1.

Row 2: p to end.

Repeat these two rows until 10 sts remain. Work 12 rows in stockinette stitch. Switch to UK 9 needles and work in k2, p2 rib for 8 rows. Bind off loosely.

Finishing: You will now need to sew back to underside leaving openings for front legs. Start sewing from top of neck and continue sewing till 1 inch past ribbing. Now start sewing again from bottom of sweater and continue till 7 inch. Repeat for other side.

Important: Since the underside is slightly longer than the back (to allow ease at the armholes), you will need to make sure your pieces are lined up properly.

30 thoughts on “Woolen Coat and No Knickers

  1. kgb says:

    oh my goodness! you have amazing skills! so so sooo very cooool! wow. i can only knit straight…as in a muffler, and i’ve never finished a single one my entire life.😛

  2. stephanie360 says:

    my dog’s a yorkie, and I would love to knit him this sweater, but I’m afraid it would be too big. I love knitting, but I always have so much trouble making things the right size. Could you help?

  3. Liz says:

    Please, please leave my answer about how much wool I need to knit the dogs batman sweater, as this is for a present very soon & I am running out of time Please please reply

  4. Anonymous says:

    Should the underside equal in length (about 14.5″) when I sew them together or is the finished underside longer than the backside of the sweater? I pulled mine apart because it was longer than the backside.

Leave a Reply

