Here Comes the Bride

Here comes the bride

This is a Kill Bill-Pulp Fiction mash up — an upcycled fabric doll inspired by ‘The Bride’ (Kill Bill) and the bride’s hairdo inspired by Samuel L. Jackson’s character in Pulp Fiction. A typical Tarantino fest😉 So, in a tribute to my favorite movie maker Quentin Tarantino, I have decided to name this doll Beatrix Kiddo (a.k.a. The Bride, the character played by Uma Thurman in Kill Bill)😀

What did I tell you about the ‘Jules Winnfield’ hairdo!

My mom’s birthday is coming up and I wanted to make something for her. She is incredibly creative and is known for her ability to create wonderful things non-stop. I wanted to surprise her with something that I’d made myself. So I dug into my craft supplies boxes and found these items: 1. an old Christmas ornament, 2. a khada (traditional silk scarf used by Tibetans, Sikkimese and people from the Darjeeling hills), 3. a toilet paper tube, 4. scrap ribbons, 5. poly-fill. That’s when the idea of making an upcycled doll struck me. After four hours of battling with fabric and needle and burning my finger twice with hot glue, I managed to make Beatrix Kiddo. Considering this is my first time working with fabric, I’m pretty happy with how this has turned out. That is why I’m now going to bore you with multiple ‘Kiddo’ images😀

Green ribbon = earth-friendly. P.S. No one needs to know it was the only remaining piece of ribbon I had.

I used the fringed end of the khada to make her a fringed stole.

View from back

Bridal bouquet made using French knot embroidery technique

Doll eyes made by P (since my hands were pretty shaky by then)

In fact, I love this doll so much I don’t think I’ll be sending it to my mom😉

 

11 thoughts on “Here Comes the Bride

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      Why not! As soon as I receive a parcel containing a Bruce Lee yellow khada and some black ribbons from you. Who knows, I may even name her ‘Noodles’ Kiddo😉 Thanks for dropping by.

      P.S. Stumbled upon your blog yesterday. Love it!🙂

      • kgb says:

        this is soooo cute!!! *cough* *cough* my birthday is in january. hahahhahah.

        i ordered my light box at the carpenter’s today. i got so confused about the dimensions that in the end they were trying to explain it to me, what i had been trying to say in the first place. anyways, it’ll be ready next week. will post pictures then. i have to get the tube lights now. that is going to cost me $$$$$…with the glass, the box is coming at Rs 1,800. i also ordered a table with a glass…which is 4 feet long. i looked at some in bag bazaar and thought it be best to just follow the experts for now……before i figure out what reaaaallly works for me. trial and error!😛

  1. Twisted Fibers says:

    @kgb – Send me your address. I’ll come to your door and sing ‘Happy Birthday to You’😉

    What type of tube lights are you planning on buying? From what we have read so far, you’ll need UV lights. So I guess for better results you’ll need either a metal halide (costs around Rs. 5000 for a 500 watt bulb) or a halogen light (we got a 500 watt one for Rs. 2200). But hey, we are just in the ‘reading’ phase; I think consulting a professional screen printer (if you know one) would be more helpful🙂 What are your light box dimensions? We were told by one carpenter sahib that a 24X36 box with glass will set us back by 6000+! It sure is turning out to be quite an expensive hobby😉

  2. Daniel O'connel says:

    Dear twisted fibers…..
    If you can make a Lady Arwen of LOTR ka doll, kindly lemme know.
    Again, Huge fan ma’am…
    I wish I knew u personally.
    You are one talented soul and its a shame we haven’t ever met…

    Kind regards
    Saint Daniel

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      Dear Saint Daniel

      Because there’s only so much one can do with a toilet paper tube, sorry but no Lady Arwen! But should I ever decide to make a papier-mâché Gollum, you’ll be the first to know.

      Regards and pop tarts,
      Twisted Fibers

      P.S. If you happen to be in possession of a thick 3-in-1 LOTR book, perhaps you’ll benefit by using it to hit yourself on the head, repeatedly if required. Maybe that will refresh your memories a bit about whether we’ve met or not. Tere ko Alzheimer’s ho gaya hain kya, Danny beta?

Leave a Reply

