Tutorial: Make Your Own Wreath Form

If you have been looking at all those lovely DIY Christmas wreaths on Pinterest, then you know the first thing you need to get started is a wreath form. What you probably don’t know is that a simple wreath form can be the end of your DIY dreams if you, like me, live in a place where it’s impossible to find ready made wreath forms! But I’ve got good news. I’ve figured out a quick and super simple way to make your own wreath form; and what’s even better—this project will hardly cost you anything.

Before we start  with the tutorial, let me share some images of the wreaths I made using this method. DIY Snowman Wreath DIY Reindeer WreathI used ribbons and some silver Christmas ornaments to decorate these DIY Christmas wreaths. And if you look closely, you’ll find my knitted snowman and crocheted amigurumi reindeer there too 😀 Likey? Then let’s move on to the tutorial.

Materials for wreath form:

  • PVC pipe
  • Connector (I used a piece of wood to connect the pipe ends)
  • Newspaper
  • Burlap (or fabric if you prefer)
  • Hot glue gun

Directions:

Step 1: How to Make Your Own Wreath FormTake a length of rubber pipe; make a ring by inserting a single piece of connector into both ends of the pipe.

Step 2: Take a newspaper sheet and fold it diagonally.

Steps 3 to 5: Fold the sheet in this manner three more times. The idea here is to make long newspaper strips which we will use later to wrap around the pipe ring and give it some bulk.

Repeat steps 2 to 5 to make several newspaper strips. You should have enough strips to cover the ring twice.

Step 6: Once you have the strips ready, start winding it around the pipe and cover it completely.

Step 7: Add one more round of strips around the pipe to give it a bit of body.

Step 8: Cut strips of burlap and wind them around the ring covering the newspaper completely (Here’s a tutorial on how to cut burlap in a straight line). Use hot glue to secure the ends.

And you’re done!

Told you it was quick and easy to make, didn’t I? You can now decorate this wreath form in any way you like 😀 Have fun!

9 thoughts on “Tutorial: Make Your Own Wreath Form

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      Crafting can get a bit difficult when your local craft store believes in stocking only ribbons, yarns, hooks and needles. But I’m glad you liked the wreaths, Mo. Made both of them this afternoon 🙂

      • twinkletoes2day says:

        How annoying. Until recently we didn’t even have a craft shop in town (nearest 12 miles away), but one opened not too far from me a couple of weeks ago 😀 so I hope she gets lots of support and she gets to stay around for quite some time. She is very interested in what people want her to stock, so hopefully it will be a real eclectic mix as she gets established. Shopping online is all well and good, but we do need to support our local shops, or they fold, and the towns become ‘dead’.
        You’re a quick worker, to have completed both of these today 😀

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      Little, I’m not really talented, just a little bullheaded 😀 I spent two entire nights thinking how I can solve this “no wreath form” problem. And then it struck me – pipe and newspaper! Lol! But I think I’ll frame your comment and hang it in my craft room for a bit of ego-massage whenever I need it 😛

  1. Twisted Fibers says:

    Mo, you’re so lucky the lady opened up her store so close by. We don’t have many craft stores here, and what little they have in stock is nothing to write home about. Can’t blame them either; not many people in this city are interested in crafting, which pretty much explains everything I guess 😦

Leave a comment