Bag It!

After my last foray into the world of crocheted bags, which left my wrists very sore and my mom very happy, I decided I would not lay my hands on a crochet hook for a very long time. But then I saw this pretty little Flower Garden Granny Square bag (pattern here) the other day on Pinterest, and I knew I had to give it a shotโ€”right away ๐Ÿ˜€

I usually indulge in a bit of craft lovinโ€™ in the evenings (whenever I can), which also happens to be the time when P and I catch up on our favorite TV shows. So the following images are a culmination of two missed episodes of Doctor Who and an episode of Game of Thrones:

As usual, I have deviated a little from the original design. Instead of 10 grannies, I made 13 and assembled them like this:

The shoulder straps were replaced with a single long cord so that I can sling it across my shoulders like a messenger bag. Next, I added a lining into the bag to add some sturdiness (tutorial on how to sew a lining into a crocheted bag here). Just when I thought I was done, I realized the opening of my bag looked like a gargoyle because it just wouldnโ€™t stay shut on its own. To fix this, I crocheted a button (please visit Moogly’s blog if you need a tutorial on how to do this; her blog has a list of 5 different patterns and tutorials to make your own buttons with crochet). TADA!โ€”my flower garden granny bag is ready for a day out ๐Ÿ™‚

18 thoughts on “Bag It!

  1. twinkletoes2day says:

    LOVE this, Bravo! ๐Ÿ˜€ You have a knack for bags ๐Ÿ˜‰ This is so bright and Summery, just right for the wet days we’ve been plagued with ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have you noticed the very weird comments appearing on your ‘This ones for you mum’ post? Just wondered…
    Mo x

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      Thank you, Mo. Iโ€™m so glad you like it ๐Ÿ˜€ By the way, I was just looking at your baby blanket on flickr. Itโ€™s come out so nice. Love the color combo ๐Ÿ™‚ The very thought of starting on a project of that scale scares me. I guess Iโ€™m brave enough to take on only the ones that can be completed quickly ๐Ÿ˜‰

      It started raining here the day before after a long spell of heat and humidity. So grateful for the wet days ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, it seems those spammers have found a way to beat wordpress spam filter. My blogโ€™s been getting an awful lot of them these past couple of days; it is so very annoying! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Twisted Fibers says:

      I think you should do that, Laura. Really! The pattern is not only pretty but quick and easy to make as well ๐Ÿ˜€ I’d love to see your bag once you’re done. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a lovely comment. Have fun with your hook ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    Love the pattern but have just got to the bit where need do straps and make button but
    the link doesn’t work : (

Leave a comment